Forum

You must be logged in to post Login Register

Search Forums:


 






Scamwatch? Dr. Sinclair, Biotivia ads say you take Transmax. Will you send Cease and Desist?

UserPost

8:35 am
February 17, 2010


FM2020

Member

posts 80


I think it is interesting that Dr Sinclair emailed the Immortality Institute in early 2007 and said that he took Longevinex at 300 mg a day for three years, and in studies on mice he used Orchid. 

7:45 am
February 17, 2010


RevGenetics

Member

posts 93

Post edited 8:01 am – February 17, 2010 by RevGenetics


The topic is about a Cease and desist letter for Biotivia. If you want to ask why Dr. Sinclair appears to hate Longevinex now then please post here at the correct topic: (Link)


Hi Dr. Sinclair,


Back in January 29th 2008, I once emailed you if you used Biotivia Transmax in your 2006 research because the owner of Biotivia (a person by the name of James Betz) was stating this as fact in the yahoo groups. You then emailed me back, that you did not use Biotivia, that you used Orchid Biosciences.

Since that response, James backpedaled and it appeared that Biotivia stopped that kind of false advertising for a while, however when I do a google search now… It appears that Biotivia continues to advertise that you use Transmax in research. Here is the quote:


Only 18 months ago it was announced by Dr. Sinclair at Harvard that Transmax resveratrol,a commercial extract of a red wine molecule produced by scientists at biotivia, switches on the SirT-1 anti-aging gene and prevents the normal diseases of aging.

Dr. Sinclair Apparently according to the post, you now work for Biotivia? I did not know that. (Just kidding… but it is a pretty silly post that may convince other folks)

That post is found here, and posted by a fellow called 'BioResearcher' just last sunday:

http://www.scientificamerican&…..1#comments


Since it appears that this misleading advertising continues to be used without your permission, will you be sending a cease and desist letter to Biotivia like you did to FWM Laboratories? Again that is only the latest example, I believe google has more.


Here is a google search that shows many more of the advertisement posts, over and over…

http://www.google.com/search?q…..=firefox-a

Is that over 646 bogus posts according to google? Seems like a lot to me.

Thanks

A

11:13 pm
February 16, 2010


FM2020

Member

posts 80

Post edited 12:32 am – February 17, 2010 by FM2020


So Dr. Sinclair was taking 300mg of longevinex for 3 years himself, but he used Orchid in experiments with mice? I assume that is because Orchid doesn't contain quercetin or IP-6. Makes sense if studying only resveratrol.

It looks like more resultrs from human trials are coming out, so this looks like an exciting year for resveratrol.  

9:50 pm
February 16, 2010


RevGenetics

Member

posts 93

Hi Dr. Sinclair,


Back in January 29th 2008, I once emailed you if you used Biotivia Transmax in your 2006 research because the owner of Biotivia (a person by the name of James Betz) was stating this as fact in the yahoo groups. You then emailed me back, that you did not use Biotivia, that you used Orchid Biosciences.

Since that response, James backpedaled and it appeared that Biotivia stopped that kind of false advertising for a while, however when I do a google search now… It appears that Biotivia continues to advertise that you use Transmax in research. Here is the quote:


Only 18 months ago it was announced by Dr. Sinclair at Harvard that Transmax resveratrol,a commercial extract of a red wine molecule produced by scientists at biotivia, switches on the SirT-1 anti-aging gene and prevents the normal diseases of aging.

Dr. Sinclair Apparently according to the post, you now work for Biotivia? I did not know that. (Just kidding… but it is a pretty silly post that may convince other folks)

That post is found here, and posted by a fellow called 'BioResearcher' just last sunday:

http://www.scientificamerican&…..1#comments


Since it appears that this misleading advertising continues to be used without your permission, will you be sending a cease and desist letter to Biotivia like you did to FWM Laboratories? Again that is only the latest example, I believe google has more.


Here is a google search that shows many more of the advertisement posts, over and over…

http://www.google.com/search?q…..=firefox-a

Is that over 646 bogus posts according to google? Seems like a lot to me.

Thanks

A

9:32 pm
February 16, 2010


FM2020

Member

posts 80

So Dr. Sinclair was taking about 300mg of Longevinex a day in 2003-2006 but was using Orchid in studies? Is that because Orchid didn't contain quercetin or IP-6 but just resveratrol?

And what are to make of the Pfizer study that showed resveratrol didn't directly activate SIRT 1? Since other studies show positive effects of resveratrol on mice, some other mechanism might be at work? 

Looks like it will be an interesting year for resveratrol and maybe SRT 501.

3:25 pm
February 16, 2010


RevGenetics

Member

posts 93

Post edited 6:47 pm – February 16, 2010 by RevGenetics


Hi Dr. Sinclair,


Back in January 29th 2008, I once emailed you if you used Biotivia Transmax in your 2006 research because the owner of Biotivia (a person by the name of James Betz) was stating this as fact in the yahoo groups. You then emailed me back, that you did not use Biotivia, that you used Orchid Biosciences.

Since that response, James backpedaled and it appeared that Biotivia stopped that kind of false advertising for a while, however when I do a google search now… It appears that Biotivia continues to advertise that you use Transmax in research. Here is the quote:


Only 18 months ago it was announced by Dr. Sinclair at Harvard that Transmax resveratrol,a commercial extract of a red wine molecule produced by scientists at biotivia, switches on the SirT-1 anti-aging gene and prevents the normal diseases of aging.

Dr. Sinclair Apparently according to the post, you now work for Biotivia? I did not know that. (Just kidding… but it is a pretty silly post that may convince other folks)

That post is found here, and posted by a fellow called 'BioResearcher' just last sunday:

http://www.scientificamerican&…..1#comments


Since it appears that this misleading advertising continues to be used without your permission, will you be sending a cease and desist letter to Biotivia like you did to FWM Laboratories? Again that is only the latest example, I believe google has more.


Here is a google search that shows many more of the advertisement posts, over and over…

http://www.google.com/search?q…..=firefox-a

Is that over 646 bogus posts according to google? Seems like a lot to me.

Thanks

A